We're open every day over Easter, except Good Friday, 30 March. Opening hours and services will change on Easter Monday, 2 April. Find our Easter opening hours here.

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

2018 Shortlist The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony on 30 April 2018. There is no shortlist for this category.

About the award

  • The UTS Glenda Adams Award ($5,000) is for a published book of fiction written by an author who has not previously published a book-length work of narrative fiction or narrative non-fiction. 
  • The Award seeks to recognise outstanding new literary talent. The winning author may produce an excellent piece of writing in a traditional fictional form or may challenge and expand the boundaries of the genre. 
  • The winner of the UTS Glenda Adams Award is chosen from entries submitted for the Christina Stead Prize (no additional entry fee is required for this award).
  • Entrants who meet the UTS Glenda Adams Award criteria should indicate on the nomination form if they wish to be considered for the Award.
  • There may not be a shortlist in this category.

About Glenda Adams

The award recognises the literary achievements of Glenda Emilie Adams (1939-2007), Australian novelist and play writer. Adams was born in Ryde, Sydney. She graduated from University of Sydney with an honours degree in Indonesian and later, won a scholarship to study at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, graduating in 1965. Adams returned to Australia later teaching creative writing at the University of Technology, Sydney. She published four novels, several short stories and plays. Her second novel Dancing on Corals won the Miles Franklin Award and a Special Award at the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards in 1987. 

Past years

2017 - UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

The winner, shortlist and judges’ comments