We're open every day over Easter, except Good Friday, 30 March. Opening hours and services will change on Easter Monday, 2 April. Find our Easter opening hours here.

Media Centre

For more detailed information, images and interviews please contact:

Media & Communications

Recent media releases

UNESCO recognises colossal images

Tuesday 31 October 2017
The world’s largest glass plate negatives of Sydney Harbour just been added to International Memory of the World Register.

2018 Coral Thomas Fellowship winner

Friday 20 October 2017
Professor Grace Karskens has been awarded the prestigious $75,000 Coral Thomas Fellowship. 

Artist Wendy Sharpe to record landmark transformation

Saturday, 30 September 2017
The award-winning Australian artist is set to record the first major building work in the historic Mitchell Building in over 50 years.

Entries now open

Wednesday, 27 September 2017
The State Library is calling for entries in the 14th Ashurst Business Literature Prize.

Winners announced

Friday 1 September 2017
State Library announces the 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards, offering $75,000 in prize money.

Shortlist announced for 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards

Thursday 24 August 2017
The works of today’s leading Australian historians have been shortlisted for the 2017 NSW Premier's History Awards.

Call for nominations: NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2018

Tuesday 22 August 2017
The State Library of NSW has announced the opening of nominations for the 2018 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. 

Dr John Vallance to head up the State Library

Thursday, 3 August 2017
Minister for the Arts Don Harwin today announced Dr John Vallance as the new State Librarian and Chief Executive.

Past media releases

Media kit