The NSW Premier’s History Awards

The NSW Premier’s History Awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievement in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. The awards assist in establishing values and standards in historical research and publication and encourage everyone to appreciate and learn from the work of our historians.

Past winners have included KS Inglis, Patricia Jalland, Inga Clendinnen, Bruce Scates and Raelene Frances, Trevor Graham, Christopher Clark, Nadia Wheatley and Grace Karskens.

The New South Wales Premier’s History Awards are administered by the State Library of NSW in association with Arts NSW. We are pleased to acknowledge the support of the History Council of NSW.

2015 NSW Premier's History Awards

Nominations are now closed for the 2015 NSW Premier's History Awards. Entries closed 5pm Friday 15 May 2015.

Nominations were sought for the following prizes, with a total prize money of $75,000:
Australian History Prize
Australian First World War History Prize
General History Prize
New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize
Young People’s History Prize
Multimedia History Prize.

All nominated works must have been first published, broadcast, screened or made publicly available between 1 April 2014 and 31 March 2015.

Writers, creators and illustrators whose works were nominated must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status.

Works published overseas were eligible if the author is an Australian citizen or holds permanent residency.


2014 NSW Premier's History Awards

The winners of the 2014 NSW Premier’s History Awards were announced at a presentation ceremony and cocktail reception, which also launched NSW History Week, on Friday 5 September 2014 at the State Library of NSW.

View the winners and shortlists

2013 NSW Premier's History Awards

The winners of the 2013 NSW Premier's HistoryAwards were announced  at the State Library of NSW on the evening of Thursday 12 September 2013.

View the winners and shortlists

2012 nsw premier's history awards

The winners of the 2012 NSW Premier's History Awards were announced on 30 November 2012 at the State Library, with $75,000 in prize money offered across 5 different categories.

View the full list of winners

View the shortlists

2012 Judges 



Enquiries about submitting a nomination can made via email:

Quick Links

The State Library provides a free Information Request Service.

Macquarie St, Sydney
NSW 2000, Australia
Tel: (02) 9273 1414

Opening hours  |  Take a tour