Main content area

NCAT has commenced

The NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NCAT) commenced operating on 1 January 2014.  It has replaced more than twenty of the state’s existing tribunals and provides a single gateway for tribunal services in NSW.  We have written about the NCAT in a previous post NCAT: a new tribunal structure of NSW commences in 2014 which includes background information about the formation of this 'super tribunal'.

The state’s former tribunals have been simplified to a structure that has four divisions:

  • Consumer and commercial
  • Administrative and equal opportunity
  • Guardianship 
  • Occupational

You can also find out more about NCAT from their website.