Main content area

NCAT: a new tribunal structure for NSW commences in 2014

The Civil and Administrative Tribunal will commence operation on 1 January 2014.  This new 'super tribunal' will be known as 'NCAT' and will amalgamate 23 smaller tribunals and other bodies, providing a single gateway to tribunal services in NSW. This new tribunal structure was established under the Civil and Administrative Tribunal Act 2013 (NSW). 

NCAT will consist of five divisions:

  • Administrative and Equal Opportunity Division
  • Consumer and Commercial Division
  • Occupational and Regulatory Division
  • Guardianship Division
  • Victims Support Division

For details about this new tribunal see the following:

What tribunals will form part of NCAT?

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Tribunal
  • Aboriginal Land Councils Pecuniary Interest and Disciplinary Tribunal
  • Administrative Decisions Tribunal
  • Charity Referees
  • Chinese Medicine Tribunal
  • Chiropractors Tribunal
  • Consumer, Trader and Tenancy Tribunal
  • Dental Tribunal
  • Guardianship Tribunal
  • Local Government Pecuniary Interest and Disciplinary Tribunal
  • Local Land Boards
  • Medical Radiation Practice Tribunal
  • Medical Tribunal
  • Nursing and Midwifery Tribunal
  • Occupation Therapy Tribunal
  • Optometry Tribunal
  • Osteopathy Tribunal
  • Pharmacy Tribunal
  • Physiotherapy Tribunal
  • Podiatry Tribunal
  • Psychology Tribunal
  • Vocational Training Appeals Panel
  • Victims Compensation Tribunal

Source: NSW Government Response to the Standing Committee on Law and Justice Inquiry into opportunities to consolidate tribunals in NSW October 2012, the larger tribunals are in bold.

Magazine articles about NCAT