Main content area

NSW Premier's Literary Awards

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature.

Winners for the 2016 Awards will be announced on Monday 16 May 2016.

Award categories

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction

The Christina Stead Prize ($40,000) is offered for a book of fiction. The award may be made for a novel or a collection of stories. 

2015 Winner: The Snow Kimono by Mark Henshaw

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

The UTS Glenda Adams Award ($5,000) is for a published book of fiction written by an author who has not previously published a book-length work of narrative fiction or narrative non-fiction.

2015 Winner: Luke Carman

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction

The Douglas Stewart Prize ($40,000) is for a prose work other than a work of fiction. 

2015 Winner: The Bush by Don Watson

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry

The Kenneth Slessor Prize ($30,000) is offered to a poet for a book of collected poems or for a single poem of substantial length published in book form. 

2015 Winner: Earth Hour by David Malouf

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature

The Ethel Turner Prize ($30,000) is offered for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry written for young people of secondary school level.

2015 Winner: The Cracks in the Kingdom by Jaclyn Moriarty

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature

The Patricia Wrightson Prize ($30,000) is offered for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry written for children up to secondary school level.

2015 Joint Winners: Catherine Norton and Tamsin Janu

The Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting

The Nick Enright Prize ($30,000) is offered for a play or a work of music drama. 

2015 Winner: Black Diggers by Tom Wright

The Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting

The Betty Roland Prize ($30,000) is for scriptwriting for TV, radio or film.

2015 Winner: The Babadook by Jennifer Kent

Indigenous Writer's Prize

Biennial.  $30,000.  Will first be awarded in 2016. The prize acknowledges the contribution made to Australian literary culture by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers.

Multicultural NSW Award

The Multicultural NSW Award ($20,000) is offered to the writer of a book (fiction or non-fiction), play, poetry, music drama or script which meets the criteria.

2015 Winner: Black and Proud by Matthew Klugman and Gary Osmond

Other Awards

Special Award

In exceptional circumstances, the judges may propose that a Special Award be created. Here are some of the past winners.

2015 Winner: David Williamson AO

About the Awards and Guidelines

About the NSW Premier's Literary Awards

All the details and categories of the NSW Premier's Literary Awards

NSW Premier's Literary Awards Guidelines

Everything you need to know to enter the NSW Premier's Literary Awards