Inclusion Advisory Committee Terms of Reference


The State Library of New South Wales is a world leading library. The Library informs, educates, inspires and surprises online, on site and on tour. Its rich heritage collections, contemporary print and digital materials, partnership with the public library network and vibrant collaborations enable Australians to interrogate our past and imagine our future. The Library’s core values are integrity, trust, service, accountability, equity of access, and innovation and engagement. 

In 2015, the Library implemented its Disability Inclusion Action Plan (DIAP). The plan outlines how the Library will address the needs of people with disability and provide more accessible and inclusive services in line with the objectives of the Disability Inclusion Act 2014.

One of the key actions of this plan is to establish an Inclusion Advisory Committee formed of people with personal experiences of disability who can provide direct input to the State Library and Executive regarding the Library’s physical and digital infrastructure and service delivery. The advice of this group will be imperative in the planning and delivery of all the operations of the Library.

Name of committee or board 

Inclusion Advisory Committee

Brief description of role 

The Inclusion Advisory Committee provides formal advice to the State Librarian, the Executive and the Library’s Disability Action Group, to assist the State Library of New South Wales to go beyond compliance in providing accessible facilities and inclusive services.

Terms of reference

  1. Advise on current trends and developments in the disability sector which could be of benefit to the Library’s operations
  2. Advise on Library policies to ensure inclusion of people with disability
  3. Advise the Library of improvements to be made in existing and planned physical and digital infrastructure to ensure inclusive access for people with disability
  4. Provide guidance for the planning and development of Library events, exhibitions and tours so that they may offer equivalent experiences for people with disability
  5. Provide guidance for the Library’s advisory services and resources for public libraries


Up to eight members including people with disability or lived experience of disability who are appointed for two year terms.


Mr Ben Ackland
Dr Breda Carty
Mr Timothy Hart
Ms Sarah Houbolt
Mr Mark Kunach
Ms Naomi Malone
Ms Gaele Sobott
Mr Mark Tonga


Elected by the members for a 12 month period

2017 - Mr Mark Tonga


A majority of the members

Frequency of meetings


Length of meetings

Two hours

Reporting responsibilities

Reports to State Librarian with the Executive Committee and the Library’s Disability Advisory Group. A report is submitted annually to the Library Council of New South Wales.

Relationships to other committees


Review of committee

The Terms of Reference and Composition of the Committee are to be reviewed every 2 years.

Executive officer

Coordinator Projects and Policy, Library and Information Services

In attendance

State Librarian and Chief Executive

Executive Director, Library and Information Services

Travel and accommodation costs

All costs incurred for travelling to the Committee’s meetings will be reimbursed to members. The cost of accommodation is reimbursed for members who live outside the Sydney metropolitan area.

Accessibility considerations

All sensory, intellectual and physical considerations will be provided to ensure full participation of committee members.