The State Library is temporarily closed until further notice. See updates here.

About the NSW Premier's Literary Awards

The Awards 

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature.

Established in 1979, the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have recognised hundreds of talented Australian writers: novelists, poets, playwrights, scriptwriters, translators, and authors of non-fiction and children’s books. 

The NSW Government is committed to increasing public engagement with the arts. Administered by the State Library of NSW, the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and to encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the work of our writers. These annual awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.

Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, David Malouf AO, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO and Helen Garner. Total prize money in 2017, including sponsored awards, is $310,000. Writers and illustrators whose works are nominated must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status. The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are presented by the NSW Government and administered by the State Library in association with Arts NSW. We are pleased to acknowledge the support of Multicultural NSW, the University of Technology, Sydney (UTS) and the International PEN Sydney Centre.

Nominations are sought for the following awards:

  • Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
  • UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing
  • Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction
  • Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
  • Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature
  • Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature
  • Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting
  • Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting
  • Multicultural NSW Award
  • Premier's Translation Prize (biennial)
  • Early Career Translator's Prize (biennial)

Other awards which may be given include:

The Special Award, The Book of the Year and The Peoples’ Choice Award.

Nominations are not accepted for these awards. 

Entries for the 2017 awards have closed.  Winners will be announced in May 2017