The State Library is temporarily closed until further notice. See updates here.

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction

About the Prize

  • The Christina Stead Prize ($40,000) is offered for a book of fiction.
  • The award may be made for a novel or a collection of stories.
  • A collection of stories may contain some previously published work. In such a case the judges will determine whether the new work is sufficient, in quantity and quality, to merit an award. It is the nominator’s responsibility to clearly identify previously published material.
  • Works of creative non-fiction, including fictionalised memoirs, are eligible for consideration under this category, but not under the Douglas Stewart Prize. Works of multiple authorship, including anthologies, are not eligible for nomination. 


About Christina Stead

The award commemorates Christina Ellen Stead (1902-1983), Australian novelist and short story writer. Stead was born in Rockdale, New South Wales. She published fifteen novels beginning with The Salzburg Tales and Seven Poor Men of Sydney (1934). Her most well-known novel The Man Who Loved Children (1940) was based on her childhood in Sydney. Stead lived most of her life overseas, in Europe and the US, but retained a strong sense of national identity, reviewing Australian novels for the New York Times Book Review and keeping up with news from Australia through family correspondence. Her work, including several volumes of short stories, is acclaimed for her satirical wit. Stead’s literary popularity in Australia increased significantly after her return in 1974. The same year she received the inaugural Patrick White Literary Award to recognise her lifetime achievement.

Past years

2018 - Christina Stead Prize for Fiction

The winner, shortlists and judges' comments.

2017 - Christina Stead Prize for Fiction

The winner, shortlists and judges' comments.

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction Past Winners

The past years' winners and judges' comments.