The State Library is temporarily closed until further notice. See updates here.

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction

About the Prize

The Douglas Stewart Prize ($40,000) is for a prose work other than a work of fiction. Books including biographies, autobiographies and works of history, philosophy and literary criticism may be nominated provided they display literary qualities. Oral histories are ineligible unless the author claims artistic responsibility for the majority of the text. Books compiled by an editor and/or consisting of contributions of more than four writers are not eligible for the Douglas Stewart Prize. An award will not be given for a work consisting principally of photographs or illustrations unless the text is of substantial length and of sufficient merit in its own right. In such cases, no part of the prize money will be paid to the photographer or illustrator. Nominators should be selective about the works entered into this category. Works must be considered literature. 

About Douglas Stewart

The award was established to commemorate the lifetime achievement of Douglas Alexander Stewart (1913-1985), poet, essayist and literary critic. Stewart, born in Eltham, New Zealand, published his first poems while still at school. He later worked as a journalist for the local newspaper before travelling overseas. A large number of his poems were first published in The Bulletin. Stewart would take on the position of literary editor in 1940 until the magazine changed ownership in 1961. It was in this role that he encouraged a number of poets of his generation, including David Campbell and Judith Wright. Stewart moved to become publishing editor with Angus & Robertson until 1972. 

Past years

2018 - Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction

The winner, shortlists and judges' comments.

2017 - Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction

The winner, shortlists and judges' comments.

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction Past Winners

The past years' winners and judges' comments.