The State Library is temporarily closed until further notice. See updates here.

Indigenous Writers' Prize

About the Prize

The Indigenous Writers' Prize ($30,000) is offered biennially.  The Prize was first awarded in 2016.  The prize is intended to acknowledge the contribution made to Australian literary culture by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers.

The prize is open to those who are of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander descent, who identify as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islanders, and who are accepted as such by the communities in which they live. 

The Prize is designed to recognise literary merit and promote works in all categories including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, books for children and young adults, plays and scriptwriting. Entrants to the Indigenous Writers' Prize are also eligible to enter their work in any of the other award categories, and entry fees will apply for each category entered.

Co-authored entries will only be considered if both writers are of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander descent.   The prize will be next awarded in 2020. All works entered must have been first published, performed, screened or broadcast between 1 October 2017 and 30 September 2019.