The Mitchell Library Reading Room is temporarily closed for refurbishment. More information ›


Important update: Library events and opening hours. Read news item ›

2019 NSW Premier’s History Awards winners announced

Friday 31 August 2019

The 2019 NSW Premier’s History Awards, offering $75,000 in prize money, were announced TONIGHT [30 August 2019] at the State Library of NSW as part of the official launch of NSW History Week.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian MP said: “These awards celebrate the great achievements of Australian historians who provide compelling insights into our past and allow the stories of our nation to be retold for generations to come. I congratulate this year’s winning historians, writers, creators and producers.”

The 2019 winners are:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)
The Bible in Australia: A Cultural History by Meredith Lake (NewSouth Publishing)

General History Prize ($15,000)
Sea People by Christina Thompson (HarperCollins Publishers)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)
Cage of Ghosts by Jon Rhodes (Darkwood)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)
The Upside-down History of Down Under by Alison Lloyd and Terry Denton (Penguin Random House Australia)

Digital History Prize ($15,000)
The Killing Times by Lorena Allam, Nick Evershed, Paul Daley, Andy Ball, Ciaran O’Mahony, Jeremy Nadel and the University of Newcastle Colonial Massacres Research Team (Guardian Australia)

Download full media release