The Mitchell Library Reading Room is temporarily closed for refurbishment. More information ›


Important update: Library events and opening hours. Read news item ›

Call for nominations: NSW Premier’s History Awards 2020

The State Library of NSW TODAY [Wednesday 19 February 2020] announced the opening of nominations for the NSW Premier’s History Awards 2020.

A total of $75,000 in prize money will be presented to the winners at an awards ceremony on 4 September 2020. Administered by the State Library of NSW, in association with Create NSW, the NSW Premier’s History Awards will offer prizes in five categories this year:

  • Australian History Prize ($15,000)
  • General History Prize ($15,000)
  • New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)
  • Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)
  • Digital History Prize ($15,000)

All works nominated for the NSW Premier’s History Awards 2020 must be first published, screened, broadcast or made publicly available between 1 April 2019 and 31 March 2020.

Entries close 5pm, Wednesday 8 April 2020.

For more information please contact: Senior Project Officer, Awards at the State Library of NSW on (02) 9273 1605 or (02) 9273 1582 or

Download full media release (PDF 161 KB)