Shortlists announced for 2021 NSW Premier’s History Awards

Wednesday 11 August 2021

The Premier of NSW, The Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP TODAY [11 August 2021] announced the shortlists for the 2021 NSW Premier’s History Awards. 

Eight judges considered 151 entries across the five prize categories.

2021 NSW Premier’s History Awards shortlists (in alphabetical order by author):

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

  • People of the River: Lost Worlds of Early Australia by Grace Karskens (Allen & Unwin)
  • A Bridge Between: Spanish Benedictine Missionary Women in Australia by Katharine Massam (ANU Press)
  • Amnesia Road: Landscape, Violence and Memory by Luke Stegemann (NewSouth Publishing)

General History Prize ($15,000)

  • War Against Smallpox: Edward Jenner and the Global Spread of Vaccination by Michael Bennett (Cambridge University Press)
  • Earthquake Children: Building Resilience from the Ruins of Tokyo by Janet Borland (Harvard University Asia Center)
  • The Wardian Case: How a Simple Box Moved Plants and Changed the World by Luke Keogh (The University of Chicago Press)

NSW Regional and Community History Prize ($15,000)

  • Landscapes of Our Hearts: Reconciling People and Environment by Matthew Colloff (Thames & Hudson Australia)
  • On a Winner: 125 Years of City Tattersalls Club by Marea Donnelly (Wilkinson Publishing)
  • The Altar Boys by Suzanne Smith (ABC Books: An imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

  • The Friendly Games by Kaye Baillie and Fiona Burrows (MidnightSun Publishing)
  • Tell Me Why for Young Adults by Archie Roach (Simon & Schuster Australia)
  • Footprints on the Moon by Lorraine Marwood (University of Queensland Press)

Digital History Prize ($15,000)

  • Women of Steel by Robynne Murphy and Martha Ansara(Jobs for Women Film Producers Group)
  • FREEMAN by Laurence Billiet (General Strike and Matchbox Pictures)
  • Small Town Queer Online Exhibition and Collection Project by Tweed Regional Museum

Download media release