There are currently intermittent issues with the display of images on the old catalogue and Library website. We are working to resolve the issue and apologise for any inconvenience. Please search the new catalogue. 


The Ask a Librarian Service will be unavailable on Monday 27 March between 8am and 10am. We apologise for any inconvenience. 

Shortlists announced for 2022 NSW Premier’s History Awards

Monday 8 August 2022

The Premier of NSW, The Hon. Dominic Perrottet MP TODAY [8 August 2022] announced the shortlists for the 2022 NSW Premier’s History Awards.  

Eight judges considered 168 entries across the five prize categories.  

Australian History Prize ($15,000)   

  • French Connection: Australia’s Cosmopolitan Ambitions by Alexis Bergantz (NewSouth)   
  • Semut: The Untold Story of a Secret Australian Operation in WWII Borneo by Christine Helliwell (Penguin Random House Australia)   
  • Australia and the Pacific: A History by Ian Hoskins (NewSouth)   

General History Prize ($15,000)  

  • King Leopold’s Ghostwriter: The Creation of Persons and States in the Nineteenth Century by Andrew Fitzmaurice (Princeton University Press)     
  • Young Soeharto: The Making of a Soldier 1921–1945 by David Jenkins (Melbourne University Publishing)     
  • The Filipino Migration Experience: Global Agents of Change by Mina Roces (Cornell University Press)      

NSW Regional and Community History Prize ($15,000)  

  • Power and Dysfunction: The New South Wales Board for the Protection of Aborigines 1883–1940 by Richard Egan (ANU Press)     
  • Gudyarra: The First Wiradyuri War of Resistance — The Bathurst War, 1822–1824 by Stephen Gapps (NewSouth)   
  • The Winter Road: A Story of Legacy, Land, and a Killing at Croppa Creek by Kate Holden (Black Inc. Books)   

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)  

  • The Dunggiirr Brothers and the Caring Song of the Whale by Auntie Shaa Smith, Neeyan Smith, Uncle Bud Marshall with Yandaarra including Sarah Wright, Lara Daley and Paul Hodge (Allen & Unwin)   
  • Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief by Katrina Nannestad (ABC Books: an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)    
  • Elsewhere Girls by Emily Gale and Nova Weetman (Text Publishing)    

Digital History Prize ($15,000)  

  • The Last Outlaws by chief investigator Professor Katherine Biber and First Nations family and cultural advisor Aunty Loretta Parsley (Impact Studios, the University of Technology Sydney)
  • Ablaze by Alec Morgan and Tiriki Onus (Jotz Productions)    
  • Chinese Australian History in 88 Objects by Michael Williams  

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony at the Library on Friday 2 September 2022.

See the highly commended works and judges' comments here.

Download the full media release