Winners announced for NSW Premier’s History Awards

Friday 3 September 2021

The 2021 NSW Premier’s History Awards, offering $75,000 in prize money, were announced online TONIGHT [3 September 2021] by the State Library of NSW as part of the official launch of NSW History Week.

NSW Premier, The Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP, said: “Historical literature is an incredibly important part of shaping our state. There are many stories to tell which give a further insight into our rich past.”

The 2021 winners are:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)
People of the River: Lost Worlds of Early Australia by Grace Karskens (Allen & Unwin)

General History Prize ($15,000)
The Wardian Case: How a Simple Box Moved Plants and Changed the World by Luke Keogh (The University of Chicago Press and Kew Publishing)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)
Landscapes of Our Hearts: Reconciling People and Environment by Matthew Colloff (Thames & Hudson Australia)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)
Tell Me Why for Young Adults by Archie Roach (Simon & Schuster Australia)

Digital History Prize ($15,000)
FREEMAN by Laurence Billiet (General Strike and Matchbox Pictures)

Senior Judge Dr Matthew Allen said: “This year's winners of the NSW Premier's History Awards are each outstanding works of history that deserve a wide audience. Once again, the Awards demonstrate the imagination, courage and empathy of contemporary historians and the importance of their work for our state and our nation.

State Librarian John Vallance said: “It’s not often that historical writing goes beyond what we expect, and challenges us, without being relentlessly didactic, to think about our futures before we have to live in them. In their own ways, all this year’s winners do just that.”

Download full media release

Read judges' comments