Newsflash:

The Library is closed onsite, open online. See updates here.

Media Centre

For more detailed information, images and interviews please contact:

Media & Communications

Recent media releases

World Press Photo Contest winners on show

Friday 14 May 2021
150 powerful and evocative images on display as part of the World Press Photo Exhibition.  

New exhibition reveals little-known stories

Monday 29 March 2021
Little-known stories of Dyarubbin — the Hawkesbury River — are revealed by Darug women storytellers in an evocative new exhibition.

‘Sheilas’, ‘fake truths’ and a 700th celebration

Friday 19 March 2021
Amazing newly acquired items go on public display for the first time.

New exhibition showcases defining images of 2020

Wednesday 6 January 2021
From catastrophic weather events to a global pandemic and Black Lives Matters protests – images captured by Sydney Morning Herald photographers will go on public display at the Library from Saturday 16 January.

Did you come out in the 1970s?

Wednesday 25 November 2020
Coming Out in the 70s tells the stories of the lesbians and gay men who, through individual acts of defiance and mass political campaigning, proudly demanded to be seen, heard and accepted. 

14-year-old Balmain boy dies from world's deadliest virus!

Friday 4 September 2020
Rare first-hand accounts of the deadly 1918-19 influenza pandemic in new display.  

NSW State Library brings World Press Photo to Sydney for 20th year

Monday 10 August 2020
The State Library of NSW will reopen its eastern galleries this Saturday 15 August.

State Library galleries reopen with new exhibition which tackles Cook’s legacy

Monday 13 July 2020

The Library's galleries reopened on Monday 13 July with its long-awaited exhibition, Eight Days in Kamay.

Past media releases