Library reopening Monday 1 June 2020. See Frequently Asked Questions here


About the prize

Ashurst Business Literature Prize will not be offered in 2020. 


Launched in 2004 by Blake Dawson and the State Library of NSW, the $30,000 Ashurst Business Literature Prize is acknowledged as Australia’s most important award for business writing.

The prestigious prize was originally established by law firm Ashurst (formerly Blake Dawson) and the State Library of NSW to encourage the highest possible standards of literary commentary on Australian business and financial affairs written by an Australian author.

In 2013, for the first time in its decade-long history, the Ashurst Business Literature Prize was expanded to include Australian authored works addressing international and global commercial life and its participants.

The range of subjects covered by the prize includes corporate and commercial literature, histories, accounts and analyses of corporate affairs as well as biographies of business people. Authors must be Australian citizens or permanent residents in order to be eligible.


2018 Ashurst Business Literature Prize Guidelines (for reference only)

For more information please contact the Senior Project Officer, Awards.


Telephone: (02) 9273 1605 or (02) 9273 1582

Past winners and shortlists


The Big Four
Ian D. Gow and Stuart Kells
La Trobe University Press, an imprint of Black Inc.
The Price of Fortune: The Untold Story of Being James Packer
Damon Kitney
Eleanor Robin
Australian Scholarly Publishing
The Lifes of Brian
Brian Sherman and AM Jonson
Melbourne University Publishing


Jumping Ship cover image
Michael Traill
Hardie Grant Publishing
Losing Streak front cover image
James Boyce
Black Inc.
Stop Fixing Women cover
Catherine Fox