The Library is open. See frequently asked questions.

Submissions closed

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are held annually. They are the richest and longest running state-based literary awards in Australia and cover all genres of writing. 

Entries for the 2022 NSW Premier's Literary Awards are now closed.

The shortlists will be announced in March 2022 and the winners will be announced on 16 May 2022 as part of the Sydney Writers' Festival. 

For more information, please contact the Senior Project Officer, Awards - or on (02) 9273 1582.


Jane McCredie

Senior Judge

Jane McCredie is an award-winning journalist, writer and reviewer who has been widely published in Australia and internationally. A former book publisher, she is the CEO of Writing NSW and the founder and director of the Quantum Words Festival of writing about science. She is the author of Making Girls and Boys: Inside the science of sex and was coeditor of the 2013 anthology of The Best Australian Science Writing.

Jane is a graduate of the Australia Council’s arts leaders program and has previously chaired both the Christina Stead and Douglas Stewart panels of the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

About the Awards

The NSW Government is committed to increasing public engagement with the arts. The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and to encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the work of our writers. These annual awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.

Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, David Malouf AO, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO, Tony Birch, Helen Garner, Ellen Van Neerven and Michelle de Kretzer. 

Total prize money in 2022, including sponsored awards, will be up to $295,000. Writers, translators and illustrators whose works are nominated must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status.

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are presented by the NSW Government and administered by the State Library in association with Create NSW. We are pleased to acknowledge the support of Multicultural NSW and the University of Technology Sydney (UTS).

Please read the Guidelines for more information. 

PDF icon2022 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Guidelines

Past events

2021 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Winner Announcement

Announcement of the 2021 NSW Premier's Literary Awards winners

2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Winner Announcement

Announcement of the 2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards winners