Face masks mandatory until 12.01 am, Monday 17 May 2021. Please read our special conditions of entry before visiting us.

Winners announced

About the Prize

The NSW Premier’s Translation Prize ($30,000) is offered biennially. The prize was proposed by the International PEN Sydney Centre and is funded by Multicultural NSW with a commemorative medallion, sponsored by Sydney PEN.  

The prize is intended to acknowledge the contribution made to literary culture by Australian translators, and recognizes the vital role that literary translators play in enabling writers and readers to communicate across cultures throughout the world. The prize is offered only to translators who translate into English works written in other languages. 

The prize is awarded for a translation in book form. Nominated works can be works of fiction, creative non-fiction, or volumes of poetry. A nominated work must be at least 40,000 words in length (this does not apply to volumes of poetry). 

Previous winners of the prize are eligible to apply. 

Translators may nominate themselves for the prize, or may be nominated by their publisher or by another individual. 

All translations must be into the English language. 

All translated works entered must have been first published between 1 October 2018 and 30 September 2020. 

More than one work by the same translator may be nominated, provided the works entered meet all other conditions of entry. 

The judging panel

Beth Yahp

Beth Yahp


Beth Yahp’s fiction and creative non-fiction include: The Red Pearl and Other Stories (Vagabond Press, 2017); a memoir Eat First, Talk Later (Gerakbudaya, 2018; Penguin Random House, 2015), which was shortlisted for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Award for Literature (Non-Fiction); and a novel The Crocodile Fury (Vagabond Press, 2017; Angus & Robertson, 1992) which was translated into several languages. Beth wrote the libretto for composer Liza Lim’s opera Moon Spirit Feasting, which won the APRA Award for Best Classical Composition in 2003. Her current projects include a collection of creative non-fiction articles on women, politics and the arts in Malaysia and a series of Small Pleasures set in Sydney and Kuala Lumpur. She lectures in Creative Writing at the University of Sydney.

Mario Cabrera

Mario Licón Cabrera

Mario Licón Cabrera is a Mexican poet and translator based in Sydney. He has published four collections of poetry, including the bilingual volume Yuxtas (Back & Forth). He won the Trilce Poetry Prize in 2015 and 2016 and has translated many leading Australian poets into Spanish, including Judith Beveridge, Peter Boyle, Dorothy Porter and Ali Cobby Eckerman. His work had been published in Mascara Literary Magazine, The Lifted Brow, Círculo de Poesía, Dispatches, Buenos Aires Poetry Review and La Otra. His most recent publication is Poems of Mijail Lamas, Mario Bojórquez & Alí Calderón (Vagabond Press, Sydney, 2017).  

He is currently working on a major bilingual anthology of Australian and Latin American poets including Robert Adamson, Michelle Cahill, Alfredo Fressia, Juan Arabia, Eunice Andrada, Lionel Fogerty.

Josh Stenberg

Josh Stenberg

Josh Stenberg is a translator of contemporary Chinese fiction, drama, and poetry. The author of Minority Stages: Sino-Indonesian Performance and Public Display, he is a Senior Lecturer in Chinese Studies at the University of Sydney.

Past winners and shortlists


Dr Omid Tofighian with Behrouz Boochani's book
Highly commended
Harry Aveling
photo of steven corcoran
Photo of Penny Hueston
Stephanie Smee


Photo of Royall Tyler
J.M.Q. Davies
Photo of Penny Hueston
Photo of Jennifer Lindsay