Face masks mandatory until 12.01 am, Monday 17 May 2021. Please read our special conditions of entry before visiting us.

2016 Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship announced

The 2016 winner of the Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship was announced at 24th Annual Memorial Luncheon at Parliament House. This year's Fellowship was awarded to Emma Lawler for her paper, The producers: rethinking roles to create an in-library production team

Pictures from the left: Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian, Emma Lawler 2016 Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship winner and Nola Barkl,  President National Council of Women of NSW

At the at 24th Annual Memorial Luncheon at Parliament House (from left) Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian, Emma Lawler, 2016 Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship winner, and Nola Barkl,  President National Council of Women of NSW.


Applications this year were a very competitive, with submissions ranging in diverse subject areas and reflecting the many issues facing librarianship today. Thank you to all our Fellowship applicants.

The winning paper was on providing a culture of transformative learning in a research-enriched environment. In particular, the paper highlighted elements that support staff to build their skills in new media literacy. It also focused on capability building for the profession, ensuring that it is adaptable to the constantly changing technological environments of Libraries. 

The Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship is one of many ways in which the Library proudly promotes and advocates support for its profession. 

Learn more about State Libary of NSW Fellowships.

The 2016 Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship was sponsored by the National Council of Women NSW and Australian Federation of Business and Professional Women