Public holiday: the Library will be open on 3 October. View opening hours

2017 Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship announced

The 2017 winner of the Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship was announced at the Annual Memorial Luncheon at Parliament House.

This year’s recipient is Kristin Twomey for her paper, Libraries Building Communities: The need for Local Government to acknowledge the role of Public Libraries in Community Building and Engagement. Kristin is the Librarian in Charge at the Snowy Valleys Council.

Richard Neville Mitchell Librarian and Kristin Twomey 2017 Jean Arnot Fellow

Richard Neville Mitchell Librarian and Kristin Twomey 2017 Jean Arnot Fellow

This year the judges were Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian and Director, Education & Scholarship and Maggie Patton, Manager of Research & Discovery at the State Library of NSW.

The number of applications increased this year, and were very competitive with submissions ranging across diverse subject areas facing librarianship. The winning paper can be read on our website here. Kristin’s essay focuses on contemporary challenges faced by our public libraries, in the context of proposed NSW Council amalgamations, with an emphasis on regional and rural areas. It argues that public libraries should be recognised, particularly in an increasingly digital world, as important informational, educational, cultural and social institutions that support and build local communities.

The Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship is one of many way in which the Library proudly promotes and advocates support for its profession. This award is generously sponsored by the National Council of Women NSW and the Australian Federation of Business and Professional Women.      


2018 Applications Open Soon