2018 Fellows Announced

The State Library is proud to announce leading historian of colonial NSW, Professor Grace Karskens as the recipient of its prestigious $75,000 Coral Thomas Fellowship. As the 2018 Fellow, Professor Karskens will use the Library’s vast collections to support her research project The Real Secret River, Dyarubbin. The annoucement was made at the inaugural Coral Thomas Lecture held on the 19 October 2017.

This year the State Library has awarded Fellowships totalling $160,000. Following a highly-competitive application process, with many outstanding entries, the Library was pleased to award Fellowships to the following scholars: 

  • David Scott Mitchell Fellow, Dr James Keating for the project ‘Linda Littlejohn: Australia's Forgotten Feminist’. 
  • Merewether Fellow, Dr Julie McIntyre for the project ‘William Macarthur, James King and Australian Agricultural Modernity’. 
  • Australian Religious History Fellow, Dr Timothy Stanley for the project ‘Religious Print after the Enlightenment’. 
  • CH Currey Fellow, Dr Emma Christopher for the project ‘Sugar and Slavery: An Australian Legacy?’  
  • Nancy Keesing Fellow, Dr Neil James for the project ‘The A&R Century: A History of Angus & Robertson’.

The Library has also recognised the work of two scholars by noting their applications as Highly Commended.

  • Dr Ben Silverstein for the project ‘Migration and the Transformation of Work in Early 20th Century NSW’ (C.H. Currey Fellowship – Highly Commended). 
  • Dr Catie Gilchrist for the project ‘Investigating Death in Colonial Sydney’ (Nancy Keesing Fellowship – Highly Commended).

Please join us in congratulating the recipients of our prestigious 2018 Fellowships. We wish them the best of luck and look forward to sharing our Library’s spaces and collections as they begin their Fellowship research.