Opening hours will change over the Easter and Anzac Day period. We're open every day except Good Friday, 19 April. Normal hours and services will resume on Friday 26 April. Find our Easter opening hours here ›

Blog post from Monday, 23 June, 2014

On this day, 23rd June 1810, Governor Lachlan Macquarie opened Australia’s first post office.

The first postmaster of Sydney was Isaac Nichols, an ex-convict who took up the post in 1809. Australia’s first post office was opened the following year by Governor Macquarie, in 1810, and it operated from Isaac Nichols’ own home, in Lower George St, Circular Quay, Sydney.

This photograph from the collections of the State Library of New South Wales was taken a few years before the building was demolished in 1889.