Public holiday: the Library will be open on 3 October. View opening hours

Recognising outstanding women in libraries

The State Library of NSW is calling for entries for the
annual Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship. 


The annual Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship honours Jean Fleming Arnot (1903–1995) MBE, FLAA, who had a distinguished career of 47 years in librarianship and was a pioneer of equal pay and women’s rights.

Arnot's career at the State Library of New South Wales began in 1921 as junior library assistant. She was acutely aware of the disparity of wages between men and women and as such became an active campaigner for equal pay while Acting Mitchell Librarian from 1956-58. 

The Fellowship is awarded to a female librarian or student of librarianship for an outstanding paper (up to 5,000 words) on any aspect of librarianship. Essay submissions should focus on innovative solutions to comtemporary library issues and services and should demonstrate original thought and research.  More information is available here.

The Library is proud to support this recognition of Jean Arnot's commitment to equal pay and service through the annual Fellowship which is generously by the National Council of Women of NSW and the Australian Federation of Business and Professional Women.

Submissions must be emailed by 26 April 2017. 

An award of $1,000 will be presented to the winner at NSW Parliament House, Sydney on Friday 12 May 2017.

For further info contact or call 9273 1910.