The Library is closed onsite, open online. See updates here.

State Library welcomes 2016 Fellows

Explore our past: Inform our future

The Library is delighted to welcome its 2016 Fellows!

Their rich, eclectic research projects range across notions of Australian identity from the ambiguity of the frontier colonial legacy of gentleman settlers Robert and Helenus Scott; the curious curiosities of James Bray’s non-professional but very commercial science in a shop in late nineteenth century Sydney; the gender concepts and national identities expressed in the work of late nineteenth century writer Catherine Helen Spence’s children’s literature; and notions of gender, religion and race traced in the life of early twentieth century missionary Anne Lock.

Other projects include the fascinating career of the mid-twentieth century journalist and influential naturalist Alec Chisholm; a study of Utzon’s acoustic solutions of the Sydney Opera House; and a study of the fluid historical consciousness of family historians from 1900 to the present. 

Our innovative DX Lab Fellows will develop a real-time visualisation of content accessed from the Library as they explore the digital boundaries of our users.

The inaugural Coral Thomas Fellow, Dr Rebe Taylor will investigate the early anthropological interconnected histories of Tasmanian and Victorian settlement through the engaging surveyor journals and personal diaries of John Helder Wedge. This project also connects Library collections to others in the National Museum of Australia, the State Library of Victoria and the Saffron Walden Museum in North Essex.

The Library’s research Fellows play an integral part in our role as a proactive partner in knowledge creation and we gratefully acknowledge the generous philanthropic support of our benefactors which have established this prestigious program.  

State Library of NSW 2016 Fellows

Back from Left to Right:
Dr Anne Jamison (Nancy Keesing Fellow), Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian and Director, Education & Scholarship, Prof. Russell McGregor (David Scott Mitchell Fellow) and Elisa Lee (DX Lab Fellow).

Front from Left to Right:
Dr Rebe Taylor (Coral Thomas Fellow), Dr Mark Dunn (CH Currey Fellow), Dr Tanya Evans (Library Council of NSW Honorary Fellow), Dr Peter Hobbins (Merewether Fellow),

Not present: Dr Catherine Bishop (Australian Religious History Fellow), Pamela Clements (NSLA Honorary Fellow) and Adam Hinshaw (DX Lab Fellow).