State Library of NSW
Chart of several harbours in the South East part of Van Dieman's land1798
Published by Aaron Arrowsmith in 1798, this map details a section of the south eastern coast of Tasmania from South West Cape to Maria's Island. It traces Captain John Hayes' expedition in 1794 in the two British ships, the Duke of Clarenceand of Duchess of Bengal. Intending to explore New Guinea, he was prevented by strong winds and decided to explore New Holland. Reaching Adventure Bay in April he left Van Diemen's Land on 9 June. During this time he discovered and named the Derwent River, Risdon Cove and Cornelian Basin. This map features Bruny Island, however Hayes gave it the name William Pitt's Isle. Unknown to Hayes, the French expedition of Admiral Bruni D'Entrecasteaux had been in the region exploring, charting and naming it only two months prior to Hayes.