Library champions celebrated

Wednesday 6 December 2017

The prestigious Honours of the Library Council of New South Wales for 2017 were announced at a special awards ceremony at the State Library of NSW last night.

The Honourable George Souris AM, President of the Library Council, conferred the Honours on six individuals in recognition of their contribution to the cultural enrichment of Australia through library and information excellence.

The following Honours were awarded:

The Dixson Medal

Graham Bradley AM

For his outstanding contribution to the Australian business, philanthropy and not-for-profit sectors, and for his sustained support for the State Library of NSW and its Foundation.

The Ifould Medal

Dr David Jones

For distinguished professional achievements and contributions to Australian libraries, including the State Library of NSW.

Emeritus Curator

Dr Keith Vincent-Smith
For his exceptional contributions in advancing and enhancing the story of Indigenous encounter in this nation and use of the State Library of NSW collections.

Honorary Fellowship

Lyn Barakat
In recognition of her contributions to NSW public libraries, in particular Sutherland Shire Council Libraries.

Robin Riley
For her outstanding contribution to enhancing the artistic, cultural and educational life of the Northern NSW community and her work at Tenterfield Library.

Graham Smith
For his exceptional service to public libraries at a local, state and national level.

Download full media release (PDF 97KB)