The Library is open. See frequently asked questions.


Due to essential maintenance, digital image viewers in the old catalogue will be temporarily unavailable between 1 pm and 4 pm (AEDT) this Thursday, 9 December 2021. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

New appointments to Library Council of NSW

Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Deputy Premier and Minister for the Arts Troy Grant has welcomed three new appointments and two reappointments to the Library Council of NSW.

“I’m pleased to announce that Kathryn Bail, Ursula Dubosarsky and Gai McGrath will join the Council, while Professor Martin Nakata and Michael Caulfield have been reappointed,” Mr Grant said.

“These members bring a wealth of skills, experience and talent to the Council, which oversees and guides the management of the State Library of NSW and the Statewide Public Library Network.

“The State Library is our main public reference and research library, while public libraries are much valued community institutions throughout the State. Each year, there are more than 35 million visits to public libraries, and over five million online visits to the State Library.”

Mr Grant thanked outgoing Council members Rodney Cavalier, Susan Doyle and Maxine Brenner for their contributions.

“Mr Cavalier has provided dedicated service over the past three years and did important work for the Honours Committee, while Ms Brenner contributed greatly to the State Library Foundation,” he said.

“Ms Doyle, who retired in August, played valuable roles as chair of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Public Libraries Consultative Committee and Grants Committee.”

PDF iconDownload full media release