Shortlists announced for 2016 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Thursday, 14 April 2016

The works of today’s leading Australian writers have been shortlisted for the 2016 NSW Premier's Literary Awards, which includes for the first time a new prize for Indigenous writers, the State Library of NSW announced today.

Thirty judges considered a record of more than 500 of entries across 10 prize categories, with the winners to be announced on the eve of the Sydney Writers’ Festival on Monday 16 May 2016. 

$305,000 in prize money will be awarded.

NSW Premier Mike Baird said: “The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have been recognising and rewarding our nation’s community of writers across all genres of literature since 1979. I am especially proud to introduce for the first time in 2016 a stand-alone award for Indigenous writers to value their unique contribution to the literary landscape of Australia.”

PDF iconDownload full media release

(PDK 420KB)