

Media Release



Winners announced for 2023 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

22/5/2023

The State Library of NSW today announced the winners of the \$350,000 NSW Premier's Literary Awards, with Debra Dank's debut *We Come With This Place* taking out a record four of the 14 prizes.

NSW Premier, The Hon. Chris Minns MP said: "Our Government is pleased to celebrate our most talented writers and I'm thrilled that this year's awards in particular highlight the incredible achievements of Gudanji/Wakaja woman, author Dr Debra Dank. On behalf of the NSW Government, I congratulate all winners and shortlisted authors of the 2023 Awards whose works inspire, educate and delight readers and writers alike."

State Librarian John Vallance added: "We're delighted that our new Government is continuing the long-standing tradition of support for our writers and those who read their work. The best way for us all to judge the strength of this year's writing is to buy the shortlist and get reading."

According to Senior Judge, Jane McCredie: "This year's awards celebrate the courage, diversity and sheer brilliance of contemporary Australian writing. Our judges assessed a record 856 entries exploring a huge range of styles and subject matter. It's exciting to see so many debut works recognised this year, and we look forward to hearing more from these writers in the future."

The 2023 prize winners are:

- Book of the Year (\$10,000)
 We Come With This Place by Debra Dank (Echo Publishing)
- Christina Stead Prize for Fiction (\$40,000)
 Women I Know by Katerina Gibson (Scribner an imprint of Simon & Schuster Australia)
- Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction (\$40,000)
 We Come With This Place by Debra Dank (Echo Publishing)
- Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry (\$30,000)

 The Singer and Other Poems by Kim Cheng Boey (Cordite Books)
- Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature (\$30,000)
 The First Scientists: Deadly Inventions and Innovations from Australia's First Peoples
 by Corey Tutt and Blak Douglas (Hardie Grant Explore)





Media Release



- Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature (\$30,000)

 The Upwelling by Lystra Rose (Hachette Australia)
- Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting (\$30,000)
 Whitefella Yella Tree by Dylan Van Den Berg (Griffin Theatre Company/ Currency Press)
- Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting (\$30,000)
 Blaze by Del Kathryn Barton and Huna Amweero (Causeway Films)
- Indigenous Writers' Prize (\$30,000)

 We Come With This Place by Debra Dank (Echo Publishing)
- Multicultural NSW Award (\$30,000)
 The Eulogy by Jackie Bailey (Hardie Grant Books)
- NSW Premier's Translation Prize (\$30,000 biennial award)
 People from Bloomington by Budi Darma, translated by Tiffany Tsao (Penguin Classics)
- UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing (\$5,000 sponsored by UTS)
 We Come With This Place by Debra Dank (Echo Publishing)
- University of Sydney People's Choice Award (\$5000 sponsored by University of Sydney)

Every Version of You by Grace Chan (Affirm Press)

Special Award (\$10,000)
 Bankstown Poetry Slam

BACKGROUND NOTES

- Works nominated for the 2023 NSW Premier's Literary Awards must have been first published, performed or screened between 1 October 2021 and 30 September 2022. This period does not apply to the NSW Premier's Translation Prize which is offered every two years.
- Writers and illustrators whose works are nominated must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status.
- The Awards are judged by an independent committee of writers, academics, critics and other sector professionals who have been appointed by the Premier or the Minister for the Arts or their delegates.
- The inaugural NSW Premiers Literary Awards were presented in 1979 by Premier
 Neville Wran and were the first Premier's literary awards to be offered in Australia.
- The NSW Premier's Literary Awards are the richest state-based literary awards in the country.





Media Release



The NSW Premier's Literary Awards are administered by the State Library of NSW in association with Create NSW. The State Library acknowledges the sponsorship of Multicultural NSW, the University of Technology Sydney and the University of Sydney. For more information, please contact the State Library of NSW Awards staff on (02) 9273 1582 or (02) 02 9273 1767 or awards@sl.nsw.gov.au

Visit the State Library of NSW's website for the list of winners and judges' comments: www.sl.nsw.gov.au/pla

MEDIA CONTACT:

Vanessa Bond, Media & Communications Manager, State Library of NSW (02) 9273 1566, 0411 259 898, vanessa.bond@sl.nsw.gov.au

