List of councils participating in regional library services in 2018/19 and their cohorts

Section 12 of the Library Act, 1939 enables councils to agree to provide library services regionally, that is across more than one council area. Such arrangements are termed "regional libraries".

ACLG				
	Councils	Population 2018	2018-19 cohort	,
RAS	Brewarrina		Rural Regional Library Member	Big Sky Libraries
RAM	Bogan		Rural Regional Library Member	North Western
RAM	Warren		Rural Regional Library Member	North Western
RAM	Carrathool		Rural Regional Library Member	Western Riverina
RAM	Hay		Rural Regional Library Member	Western Riverina
RAM	Walcha	3132	Rural Regional Library Member	Central Northern
RAM	Lockhart		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
RAM	Murrumbidgee	3961	Rural Regional Library Member	Western Riverina
RAM	Coonamble	4014	Rural Regional Library Member	North Western
RAM	Gilgandra	4226	Rural Regional Library Member	North Western
RAM	Coolamon	4368	Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
RAL	Gwydir	5349	Rural Regional Library Member	Central Northern
RAL	Narrandera	5931	Rural Regional Library Member	Western Riverina
RAL	Bland		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
RAL	Walgett	6051	Rural Regional Library Member	Big Sky Libraries
RAL	Uralla		Rural Regional Library Member	Central Northern
RAL	Temora		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
RAL	Narromine		Rural Regional Library Member	Macquarie Regional
RAL	Junee		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
	Blayney		Rural Regional Library Member	Central West
RAL	Liverpool Plains		Rural Regional Library Member	Central Northern
RAL	Kyogle		Rural Regional Library Member	Richmond-Upper Clarence
URS	Edward River		Rural Regional Library Member	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
RAL				Central Murray Newcastle
	Dungog		Rural Regional Library Member	
RAL	Warrumbungle		Rural Regional Library Member	Macquarie Regional
RAL	Forbes		Rural Regional Library Member	Central West
RAV	Greater Hume		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
RAV	Cootamundra-Gundagai		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
	Murray River ##		Rural Regional Library Member	Central Murray Swan Hill Campaspe Reg.
RAV	Federation		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
RAV	Cowra		Rural Regional Library Member	Central West
	Bellingen		Rural Regional Library Member	Clarence Regional
RAV	Narrabri		Rural Regional Library Member	Central Northern
	Moree Plains		Rural Regional Library Member	Big Sky Libraries
RAV	Cabonne		Rural Regional Library Member	Central West
RAV	Snowy Valleys		Rural Regional Library Member	Riverina
UDS	Hunters Hill		Rural Regional Library Member	Ryde
URS	Richmond Valley	23399	Urban Small	Richmond-Upper Clarence
URS	Griffith	26882	Urban Small	Western Riverina
URM	Byron	34574	Urban Small	Richmond Tweed
URM	Orange	42056	Urban Small	Central West
URM	Lismore	43843	Urban Small	Richmond Tweed
URM	Ballina	44208	Urban Small	Richmond Tweed
URM	Clarence Valley	51647	Urban Medium	Clarence Regional
URM	Dubbo Regional	53240	Urban Medium	Macquarie Regional
URM	Tamworth		Urban Medium	Central Northern
	Wagga Wagga		Urban Medium	Riverina
	Port Stephens		Urban Medium	Newcastle
URL	Tweed		Urban Medium	Richmond Tweed
	Ryde		Urban Medium	Ryde
	Newcastle		Urban Large	Newcastle

Murray River Council has multiple cooperative arrangements for the delivery of library services to residents. See Central Murray Regional Library (NSW) for Mathoura, Campaspe Regional Library (Vic) for Moama and Swan Hill Regional Library (Vic) for Barham and Moulamein.

Sources

The 2018/19 cohorts are determined using the ABS population figures for June 2018 as used for the 2018/19 NSW Public Library Statistics. The cohorts are used in conjunction with Living Learning Libraries: standards and guidelines https://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/public-library-services/content/living-learning-libraries

State Library of NSW