Winners announced for 2015 NSW Premier's History Awards

Friday, 4 September 2015

The 2015 NSW Premier’s History Awards, offering $75,000 in prize money, were announced TONIGHT [4 September 2015] at the State Library of NSW, as part of the official launch of NSW History Week. 

NSW Premier Mike Baird, said: “These awards celebrate the great achievements of our historians who provide compelling insights into our past and keep our nation’s historical legacy alive,”

“I’d like to congratulate all of this year’s winners who have spent time researching and analysing past events to allow the stories of our nation to be retold for generations to come.”


Australian History Prize ($15,000) 

The Europeans in Australia, Volume 3: Nation, Alan Atkinson (NewSouth Books)  

Australian First World War History Prize (commemorative medallion) 

Joint winners 

Anzac, the Unauthorised Biography, Carolyn Holbrook (NewSouth Books) 

The Lost Legions of Fromelles, The true story of the most dramatic battle in Australia’s history, Peter Barton (Allen & Unwin) 

General History Prize ($15,000) 

Intolerant Bodies: A Short History of Autoimmunity, Warwick Anderson & Ian R Mackay (Johns Hopkins University Press) 

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000) 

The Luck of the Irish: How a shipload of convicts survived the wreck of the Hive to make a new life in Australia, Babette Smith (Allen & Unwin) 

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000) 

My Gallipoli, Ruth Starke & Robert Hannaford (Working Title Press)  

Multimedia History Prize ($15,000) 

Brilliant Creatures, Dan Goldberg & Margie Bryant (Mint Pictures & Serendipity Productions)

Learn more about the NSW Premier’s History Awards here.