Winners announced for 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards

Friday 1 September 2017

The 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards, offering $75,000 in prize money, were announced TONIGHT [1 September 2017] at the State Library of NSW, as part of the official launch of NSW History Week.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian MP said: “These awards celebrate new knowledge of who we are and where we have come from, which helps us to create the strong communities of the future.”

“I congratulate the winners and shortlisted writers, creators and producers for their valuable contributions.”

The winners for 2017 are:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

From the Edge: Australia’s Lost Histories, Mark McKenna (Melbourne University Publishing)

General History Prize ($15,000)

Japanese War Criminals: The Politics of Justice After the Second World War, Sandra Wilson, Robert Cribb, Beatrice Trefalt and Dean Aszkielowicz (Columbia University Press)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

Stories from the Sandstone: Quarantine Inscriptions from Australia’s Immigrant Past, Peter Hobbins, Ursula K. Frederick and Anne Clarke (Arbon Publishing)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

Maralinga’s Long Shadow: Yvonne’s Story, Christobel Mattingley (Allen and Unwin)

Multimedia History Prize ($15,000)

The Amboyna Conspiracy Trial, Adam Clulow (Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media)

Download full media release (PDF 167KB)