The State Library is temporarily closed until further notice. See updates here.

Winners announced for 2017 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Monday, 22 May 2017

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced TONIGHT [Monday 22 May] at the State Library of NSW, with a total of $300,000 offered across 13 prizes.

NSW Premier, The Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP said: “The diversity of tonight’s winners is impressive, both in terms of the writers’ backgrounds and the subject matter of the works. It reflects the outstanding and continuous achievements of the Australian literary community. On behalf of the NSW Government, I congratulate all the shortlisted authors and winners of the 2017 Awards.”

Lucy Milne, acting NSW State Librarian & Chief Executive, said: “The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are one of Australia’s largest and most comprehensive literary prizes, celebrating and fostering our vibrant literary community. The State Library of NSW is proud to manage the Premier’s Literary Awards in association with Create NSW.”

According to Senior Judge, Suzanne Leal: “Australian literature is in fine form. This is confirmed by strong shortlists in each category of this year’s Awards and winning entries that explore the world with lyricism, whimsy, sorrow, fury, passion and humour. The judges appreciate the staunch commitment of the NSW Government in valuing and supporting Australian writers.”

Download full media release (PDF 165KB)

See the list of 2017 NSW Premier’s Literary Award winners and judges' comments