Due to essential network maintenance, access to some online services including the viewing of digital images will be temporarily unavailable between 5 pm and 8 pm AEST on Sunday, 22 September 2019. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Winners announced for 2018 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Monday, 30 April 2018

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced tonight at the State Library of NSW, with a total of $295,000 offered across 12 prizes.

NSW Premier, The Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP said: “The NSW Government is committed to supporting writers and literature. Through their exceptional talent for story‐telling and research the 2018 winning writers have delivered outstanding literary works which provoke critical thought as well as entertaining us.”

According to Senior Judge, Suzanne Leal: “With clarity, with urgency and often, too, with humour, the winning entries challenge our understanding of Australia’s history and question where we are headed. We congratulate the writers — both new and established — for these exciting, original and thought‐provoking works. The 30 judges appreciate the ongoing support shown by the Premier and the NSW Government to Australian writers and their craft.”

State Librarian John Vallance said: “One of the State Library’s most important responsibilities centres on supporting Australian writers and our unique collections have inspired many great works. We are proud to be entrusted with the management of our country’s longest‐standing and richest state‐funded awards.”

The prize winners are listed below:

Group of people holding awards

Book of the Year ($10,000)

Taboo by Kim Scott (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000)

The Book of Dirt by Bram Presser (Text Publishing)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5,000 — sponsored by UTS)

The Book of Dirt by Bram Presser (Text Publishing)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non‐fiction ($40,000)

Passchendaele: Requiem for Doomed Youth by Paul Ham (Penguin Random House Australia)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000)

Argosy by Bella Li (Vagabond Press)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

How to Bee by Bren MacDibble (Allen & Unwin)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature ($30,000)

The Ones That Disappeared by Zana Fraillon (Hachette Australia) Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting ($30,000)

Black is the New White by Nakkiah Lui (Sydney Theatre Company)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting ($30,000)


Deep Water: The Real Story written by Amanda Blue and Jacob Hickey (Blackfella Films)
Top of the Lake: China Girl, Series 2 Episode 4 ‘Birthday’ written by Jane Campion and Gerard Lee (See‐Saw Films)

Multicultural NSW Award ($20,000 — sponsored by Multicultural NSW)

The Permanent Resident by Roanna Gonsalves (UWA Publishing)

Indigenous Writers’ Prize ($30,000) — biennial award

Taboo by Kim Scott (Pan Macmillan Australia)

People’s Choice Award

The Book of Dirt by Bram Presser (Text Publishing)

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are administered by the State Library of NSW in association with Create NSW.

Download the full media release (PDF 167KB).