The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards & NSW Premier’s History Awards

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and the Premier’s History Awards are an important and integral part of the State’s cultural activity. On 5 April 2012 the NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell announced that the awards will be reinvigorated and strengthened, following a recent review.

These Awards are presented by the NSW Government and managed by the State Library of NSW in association with Arts NSW.

2014 NSW Premier's History Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2014 NSW Premier’s History Awards.

A total of $75,000 in prize money will be presented to the winners at an awards ceremony in September 2014.

This year, the Australian Military History Prize has been introduced to commemorate the centenary of World War One. The winner will be chosen from a major published work submitted for the Australian History Prize. No additional entry fee is required for this award.

This special prize acknowledges the work of historians in interpreting and understanding our nation’s involvement in the First World War.

Administered by the State Library of NSW, in association with Arts NSW, the NSW Premier’s History Awards offers prizes in 6 categories this year:

All works nominated for the NSW Premier’s History Awards 2014 must be first published, produced or made publicly available between 1 April 2013 and 31 March 2014.
Nominations may be made by authors or by their authorised representative: agent, publisher, professional theatre company, film distributor, production or broadcasting company or corporation.

More information, including guidelines and nomination form, can be found at

There will be an extended nomination period to allow for the Easter holidays and ANZAC day with the deadline for entries on Friday 2 May 2014. 

2013 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

2012 NSW Premier's History Awards

2014 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

The NSW Premier's Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature.

Established in 1979, the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have recognised hundreds of talented Australian writers: novelists, poets, playwrights, scriptwriters, translators, and authors of non-fiction and children’s books.

The 2014 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, with a total of $275,000 offered across 12 prizes, were announced at a presentation ceremony held at the State Library of NSW on Monday 19 May.

More information about the 2014 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

2013 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

2012 NSW Premier's Literary Awards




NSW Premier's History Awards

The Premier's History Awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievement in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents.

Award guidelines

2013 guidelines for the NSW Premier's Literary Awards are now available.

Quick Links

The State Library provides a free Information Request Service.

Macquarie St, Sydney
NSW 2000, Australia
Tel: (02) 9273 1414

Opening hours  |  Take a tour