The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature.

The NSW Government is committed to increasing public engagement with the arts. Administered by the State Library of NSW in association with Arts NSW, the Premier’s Literary Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and to encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the work of our writers. These annual awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtues them.

Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO and Helen Garner. 

2015 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

Total prize money in 2015, including sponsored awards, is $310,000. Writers and illustrators whose works are nominated must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent residency.

In order to be eligible, all works must have been first published, performed, broadcast or screened between 1 October 2013 and 30 September 2014.

Prize categories:
Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing
Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction
Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature
Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature
Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting
Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting
Multicultural NSW Award
The NSW Premier's Translation Prize (biennial)
Multicultural NSW Early Career Translators Prize (biennial)
Special Award
Book of the Year

The winners were announced and the awards presented on 18 May 2015.

Winners, shortlist and judges' comments

2014 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

View the winners and shortlist

2013 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

More information about the 2013 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

2012 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

More information about the 2012 NSW Premier's Literary Awards


For enquiries about submitting a nomination email or telephone (02) 9273 1582.

Quick Links

The State Library provides a free Information Request Service.

Macquarie St, Sydney
NSW 2000, Australia
Tel: (02) 9273 1414

Opening hours  |  Take a tour