What's On

Date range
Types
Series

Past All previous events

Botanical Inspirations

Friday 17 November 2017 to Sunday 28 January 2018

On show in the Amaze Gallery, a selection of works related to artist Ferdinand Bauer.

Australian Poetry Slam: NSW Final

Saturday 14 October 2017 - 7pm to 9:30pm

After 16 explosive Australian Poetry Slam heats held all over NSW, from Moree to Sydney, from Byron Bay to Albury, we’ve gathered the best poets from each region to share their words with you in a mind-blowing state final! 

Nikon-Walkley Photojournalism

Friday 13 October 2017 to Sunday 26 November 2017

Celebrate  great Australian journalism, telling the stories of our nation and strengthening our democracy.

Out of the Vaults: Pop!

Friday 6 October 2017 - 5:30pm to 7pm

The State Library works hard to collect items which focus on all aspects of today’s lifestyle, reflecting fads and fashions, amusements and our use of leisure. Join Curator Margot Riley for this special viewing of highlights from the Library’s rarely seen ephemera collection.

Book launch: Don Spencer 'I Wish I Had an Elephant'

Wednesday 27 September 2017 - 10am to 11am

Don Spencer will launch his new book I Wish I Had an Elephant at this social event.

The Big Anxiety Festival: Care Café

Saturday 23 September 2017 - 11am to 1pm

Conceived by artist and academic Lois Weaver, who uses the familiar to get people to talk about what is troubling and unfamiliar, the Care Cafe is a new call to conversation in an era in which human rights are under threat.

What goes pop!

Saturday 2 September 2017 to Sunday 25 February 2018

A whistle-stop tour through some of the most important cultural changes of the 20th century.

2017 Premier’s History Awards

Friday 1 September 2017 - 6pm to 9pm

Join us for a glittering evening as we announce the winners of the 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards and officially launch the start of History Week.