Library Council

The Library Council of NSW is the governing body of the State Library.

The Council’s responsibilities relate to the promotion, provision and maintenance of library and information services for the people of New South Wales; and advising the Minister and local authorities on matters of policy and administration relating to library services.

The nine members of Library Council are members of the public nominated by the State Government and appointed for a three year term by the Governor of New South Wales.

Library Council objectives are defined in section 4A of the Library Act 1939.