Media Centre

For more detailed information, images and interviews please contact:

Media & Communications

Recent media releases

World Press Photo Contest winners on show at NSW State Library

Thursday 16 May 2019

See the world’s best photojournalism from 2018 when the annual World Press Photo Exhibition opens at the State Library of NSW on Saturday 25 May 2019.

The Burial Files – new podcast unearths Sydney’s shady past

Tuesday 11 June 2019

Over six episodes, you’ll hear from leading historians, curators, archaeologists, forensic experts and railway enthusiasts – each revealing a little-known piece of history about a place we thought we knew. 

Finalists for State Library’s new short film prize announced

Tuesday 4 June 2019

The State Library of NSW has announced the best short films to premiere at the inaugural Shortstacks Short Film Festival on Wednesday 12 June 2019.

New exhibition unearths Central Station’s deep dark history!

Friday 24 May 2019

Untold stories buried beneath Sydney’s Central Station are unearthed in the Library's new exhibition, Dead Central.

State Library offering over $200,000 in paid research opportunities

Monday 20 May 2019

Applications for all State Library Fellowships close 5pm, Monday 15 July 2019.

Colourful history of 'Big Four' wins prestigious $30,000 Ashurst Business Literature Prize

Wednesday 15 May 2019

Authors Stuart Kells and Ian D Gow reveal the fascinating story of wealth, power and luck behind these global powerhouses. 

Rare pieces of Australian history heading to local primary schools

Thursday 16 May 2019

The extraordinary items from the State Library’s collection are heading to Bega and Eden, from 20 May 2019.

Quirky collection of stories about ‘dysfunctional men’ takes out Australia’s only humour writing prize

Thursday 2 May 2019

The 2019 Russell Prize for Humour Writing winner announced by the State Library of NSW. 

Past media releases

Media kit