Winners announced


Announcement of 2020 NSW Premier's History Awards

Caption on bottom

The NSW Premier’s History Awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievements in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. Held annually, the awards assist in establishing values and standards in historical research and publication and encourage everyone to appreciate and learn from the work of our historians.  

Past winners have included KS Inglis, Patricia Jalland, Inga Clendinnen, Bruce Scates and Raelene Frances, Trevor Graham, Christopher Clark, Nadia Wheatley and Grace Karskens. The NSW Premier’s History Awards are administered by the State Library of NSW in association with Create NSW. We are pleased to acknowledge the support of the History Council of NSW.

Total prize money is $75,000. 

The Judging Panel

Associate Professor Tanya Evans

Senior Judge

Associate Professor Tanya Evans is Director of the Centre for Applied History at Macquarie University where she teaches in the Department of Modern History. Her books include the prize-winning Fractured Families: Life On The Margins in Colonial New South Wales (New South, 2015); Swimming with the Spit, 100 Years of the Spit Amateur Swimming Club (New South, 2016); with Pat Thane, Sinners, Scroungers, Saints: Unmarried Motherhood in Modern England (Oxford University Press, 2012) and 'Unfortunate Objects': Lone Mothers in Eighteenth-Century London (Palgrave Macmillan, 2005). She also curates exhibitions and works as a consultant for television production companies making historical documentaries. She is currently writing a history of 'ordinary' mothers in Australia in collaboration with family historians and another book comparing the practice and meanings of family history in Australia, England and Canada.

Headshot Matt Allen

Dr Matthew Allen

Dr Matthew Allen is a Lecturer in Historical Criminology at the University of New England whose research is focused on the history of drinking, drunkenness and the policing of deviance in New South Wales, 1788-1856.

Frank Bongiorno

Professor Frank Bongiorno

Frank Bongiorno AM is Professor and Head of the School of History at the Australian National University. He has previously taught at Griffith University, the University of New England and King’s College London. He was Smuts Visiting Fellow in Commonwealth Studies at the University of Cambridge in 1997-98. A Fellow of the Royal Historical Society, the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and the Australian Academy of Humanities, Frank is the author of several books and many other works of Australian history, including The Sex Lives of Australians: A History (2012) and The Eighties: The Decade That Transformed Australia (2015). He has served as chair of the Literature and History Committee of the NSW Ministry of the Arts, and as a member of the Management Committee of the History Council of NSW. He has also co-edited History Australia, the Australian Historical Association’s journal, and is Chair of the Social Sciences Editorial Board of the ANU Press.

Associate Professor Anna Clark

Associate Professor Anna Clark is an Australian Research Council Future Fellow at the Australian Centre for Public History at the University of Technology Sydney. She has written extensively on history education, historiography and historical consciousness, including: Teaching the Nation: Politics and Pedagogy in Australian History (2006), History’s Children: History Wars in the Classroom (2008), Private Lives, Public History (2016), the History Wars (2003) with Stuart Macintyre, as well as two history books for children, Convicted! and Explored! Reflecting her love of fish and fishing, she also recently wrote The Catch: The Story of Fishing in Australia.

Peter Hobbins headshot

Dr Peter Hobbins

Dr Peter Hobbins has worked as an academic, public and professional historian. The author of two books and over 20 scholarly articles, he is also passionate about sharing research with community historians. Based at the National Archives of Australia, Dr Hobbins is a Councillor of the Royal Australian Historical Society, a committee member of the Professional Historians Association and an Honorary Affiliate in the Department of History at the University of Sydney. With his co-authors Ursula K Frederick and Anne Clarke, his book Stories from the Sandstone: Quarantine Inscriptions from Australia's Immigrant Past won the NSW Community and Regional History Prize in the 2017 Premier's History Awards.

Megan Martin

Megan Martin is Head of Collections & Access at Sydney Living Museums where she develops online content relating to SLM’s properties and collections.  She has worked as a consultant historian in the heritage field and contributed biographical entries to the Australian Dictionary of Biography and to other publications. She has curated exhibitions on Augusto Lorenzini: Italian Artist Decorator in Victorian Sydney at Elizabeth Bay House in 2001; Dream Home-Small Home at the Museum of Sydney in 2014 and The Artist & the Botanical Collector: the lost works of Lovegrove & Bäuerlen at the Museum of Sydney in 2016.

Tim Rowse

Emeritus Professor Timothy Rowse

Tim Rowse is an academic historian in active retirement. He is the author of several books on Australian history, including Nugget - a reforming life (Cambridge University Press 2002) - a biography of Dr. H.C. Coombs. His most recent book is Indigenous and other Australians since 1901 (UNSW Press 2017).

Emeritus Professor Ian Tyrrell

Ian Tyrrell is Emeritus Professor of History at the University of New South Wales. A specialist in American history, he most recently authored River Dreams: The People and Landscape of the Cooks River (UNSW Press) and is writing American Exceptionalism: The Idea that Simply Refuses to Lie Down and Die.