Winners announced for the 2022 NSW Premier’s History Awards


The 2022 NSW Premier’s History Awards, offering $75,000 in prize money, were announced tonight as part of the official launch of NSW History Week.

NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet MP said: “Historians build the bridges that connect us with our past, enabling us to build on the legacies we have inherited for the benefit of future generations.”

The 2022 winners are:

  • Australian History Prize ($15,000)
    French Connection: Australia’s Cosmopolitan Ambitions by Alexis Bergantz (NewSouth)
  • General History Prize ($15,000)
    The Filipino Migration Experience: Global Agents of Change by Mina Roces (Cornell University Press)
  • NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)
    The Winter Road: A Story of Legacy, Land, and a Killing at Croppa Creek by Kate Holden (Black Inc. Books)
  • Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)
    The Dunggiirr Brothers and the Caring Song of the Whale by Aunty Shaa Smith, Neeyan Smith, Uncle Bud Marshall, with Yandaarra including Sarah Wright, Lara Daley and Paul Hodge (Allen & Unwin)
  • Digital History Prize ($15,000)
    The Last Outlaws by chief investigator Professor Katherine Biber and First Nations family and cultural advisor Aunty Loretta Parsley (Impact Studios, the University of Technology Sydney)

Senior Judge Professor Frank Bongiorno said: “I commend all of those creative and hard-working people who make great history accessible to diverse audiences.”

State Librarian John Vallance said: “History is always on the move, with new ideas and fresh perspectives challenging what we thought we knew. That’s what makes these awards so exciting.”

Read judges' comments