The Library is open over the October long weekend, with reduced hours on Monday 2 October 2023. View the long weekend opening hours here.

Shortlists announced for 2023 NSW Premier’s History Awards

Friday 4 August

The Premier of NSW, The Hon. Chris Minns MP TODAY [4 August 2023] announced the shortlists for the 2023 NSW Premier’s History Awards.

Eleven judges considered 186 entries across the six prize categories. 

Australian History Prize ($15,000)   

  • Elizabeth and John: The Macarthurs of Elizabeth Farm by Alan Atkinson (NewSouth) 
  • Dreamers and Schemers: A Political History of Australia by Frank Bongiorno (La Trobe University Press/Black Inc.) 
  • Political Lives: Australian prime ministers and their biographers by Chris Wallace (NewSouth) 

General History Prize ($15,000)  

  • Visions of Nature: How Landscape Photography Shaped Settler Colonialism by Jarrod Hore (University of California Press) 
  • Under Empire: Muslim Lives and Loyalties Across the Indian Ocean World, 1775–1945 by Michael Laffan (Columbia University Press)   
  • Singing the News of Death: Execution Ballads in Europe 1500-1900 by Una McIlvenna (Oxford University Press) 

NSW Community & Regional History Prize ($15,000)  

  • The Naturalist: The remarkable life of Allan Riverstone McCulloch by Brendan Atkins (NewSouth, in association with the Lord Howe Island Historical Society and Museum)  
  • He Belonged to Wagga: The Great War, the AIF and returned soldiers in an Australian country town by Ian Hodges (Australian Scholarly Publishing)  
  • Whitefella Way by Jon Rhodes (Self-published) 

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)  

  • The Goodbye Year by Emily Gale (Text Publishing) 
  • Running with Ivan by Suzanne Leal (HarperCollins Publishers) 
  • The Wearing of the Green by Claire Saxby (Walker Books Australia) 

Digital History Prize ($15,000)  

  • Still We Rise by Anna Grieve and John Harvey (Tamarind Tree Pictures) 
  • The Australian Wars, Episode 1 by Rachel Perkins, Darren Dale, Jacob Hickey and Don Watson (Blackfella Films) 
  • Ayahs and Amahs: Transcolonial Journeys by Lauren Samuelsson (University of Newcastle, Australia) 

The Anzac Memorial Trustees’ Military History Prize ($10,000) 

  • The Scrap Iron Flotilla: Five Valiant Destroyers and the Australian War in the Mediterranean by Mike Carlton (William Heinemann, an imprint of Penguin Random House Australia)
  • Soldiers and Aliens: Men in the Australian Army’s Employment Companies during World War II by June Factor (Melbourne University Publishing)  
  • He belonged to Wagga: The Great War, the AIF and returned soldiers in an Australian country town by Ian Hodges (Australian Scholarly Publishing)  

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony at the Library on Thursday 7 September 2023.

See the highly full shortlist and judges' comments

PDF icon Download the full media release