The Library is open. See frequently asked questions.


Due to essential maintenance, digital image viewers in the old catalogue will be temporarily unavailable between 1 pm and 4 pm (AEDT) this Thursday, 9 December 2021. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Submissions closed

Recipients of the Special Award

Year Recipient
1982 Christina Stead
1984 Marjorie Barnard
1985 Grace Perry
1986 William H. Wilde, Joy Hooton, Barry Andrews for The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature, Oxford University Press
1987 Glenda Adams for Dancing on Coral, Angus & Robertson
1988 Patricia Wrightson
1989 A.D. Hope
1990 Bruce Beaver
1991 Bill Neskovski, Judith Wright
1992 Ronald McCuaig
1993 Mudrooroo Nyoongah
1994 Dal Stivens
1995 David Horton for The Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia, Aboriginal Studies Press
1996 Thomas Shapcott
1997 Colin Thiele
1999 Leslie Rees
2000 Dorothy Hewett
2001 Ron Pretty
2002 Thea Astley
2003 Nick Enright
2004 Ruth Park
2005 Ruby Langford Ginibi
2006 Rosemary Dobson
2007 Gerald Murnane
2008 Tom Keneally
2009 Katharine Brisbane AM
2010 The Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature
2011 Libby Gleeson
2012 Clive James
2013 David Ireland AM
2014 Rodney Hall OAM
2015 David Williamson AO
2016 Dr Rosie Scott AM
2019 No Friend But the Mountains: Writing from Manus Prison by Behrouz Boochani and translated by Omid Tofighian
2021 Melina Marchetta