The Library is closed onsite, open online. See updates here.

Opening soon

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are held annually. They are the richest state-based literary awards in Australia and cover all genres of writing. 

Entries for the 2022 Awards will open in late August 2021. 

Sign up to the Awards enewsletter


About the Awards

The NSW Government is committed to increasing public engagement with the arts. The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and to encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the work of our writers. These annual awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.

Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, David Malouf AO, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO, Tony Birch, Helen Garner, Ellen Van Neerven and Michelle de Kretzer. 

Total prize money in 2022, including sponsored awards, will be up to $305,000. Writers, translators and illustrators whose works are nominated must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status.

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are presented by the NSW Government and administered by the State Library in association with Create NSW. We are pleased to acknowledge the support of Multicultural NSW and the University of Technology Sydney (UTS).

Jane McCredie

Senior Judge

Jane McCredie is an award-winning journalist, writer and reviewer who has been widely published in Australia and internationally. A former book publisher, she is the CEO of Writing NSW and the founder and director of the Quantum Words Festival of writing about science. She is the author of Making Girls and Boys: Inside the science of sex and was coeditor of the 2013 anthology of The Best Australian Science Writing.

Jane is a graduate of the Australia Council’s arts leaders program and has previously chaired both the Christina Stead and Douglas Stewart panels of the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.


PDF icon2021 NSW Premiers Literary Awards Guidelines ext.pdf

(For reference only)

Please note the Guidelines for 2022 will be published when entries open for the 2022 Awards in August 2021. 

Senior Project Officer, Awards
(02) 9273 1582 or
(02) 9273 1605

Past events

2021 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Winner Announcement

Announcement of the 2021 NSW Premier's Literary Awards winners

2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

Announcement of 2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards