The State Library is temporarily closed until further notice. See updates here.

Shortlist announced
Cover image of the book Real Differences.
SL Lim
Transit Lounge
Cover image of the book The House of Youssef.
Yumna Kassab
Giramondo Publishing
Cover image of the book Little Stones.
Elizabeth Kuiper
University of Queensland Press
Cover image of the book An-Tan-Tiri Mogodan.
Florina Enache
Adelaide Books
Cover image of the book Dolores.
Lauren Aimee Curtis
Hachette Australia
Cover image of the book Lucky Ticket.
Joey Bui
Text Publishing

The Judging Panel

Jane McCredie

Senior Judge

Jane McCredie is an award-winning journalist, writer and reviewer who has been widely published in Australia and internationally. A former book publisher, she is the CEO of Writing NSW and the founder and director of the Quantum Words Festival of writing about science. She is the author of Making Girls and Boys: Inside the science of sex and was coeditor of the 2013 anthology of The Best Australian Science Writing. Jane is a graduate of the Australia Council’s arts leaders program and has previously chaired both the Christina Stead and Douglas Stewart panels of the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

Photo of Felicity Castagna

Felicity Castagna

Felicity Castagna won the 2014 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Young Adult Fiction for her previous novel, The Incredible Here and Now, which was shortlisted for the Children’s Book Council of Australia and NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, and adapted for the stage by the National Theatre of Parramatta. Her collection of short stories, Small Indiscretions, was named an Australian Book Review Book of the Year. Castagna’s work has appeared on radio and television, and she runs the storytelling series Studio Stories coordinating the mentorship program The Finishing School. Her latest book No More Boats was a finalist in The Miles Franklin Literary Award.

photo of mireille juchau

Mireille Juchau

Mireille Juchau is an award-winning novelist and critic. Her third novel, The World Without Us was published by Bloomsbury in the US, UK and Australia and won the Victorian Premiers Literary Award for Fiction. Her essays have been published most recently in LitHubThe MonthlySydney Review of BooksBest Australian Essays and Tablet.  Mireille was the 2018 Charles Perkins Centre writer in residence at the University of Sydney.

photo of michael sala

Michael Sala

Michael Sala was born in the Netherlands in 1975 to a Greek father and a Dutch mother, and first came to Australia in the 1980s. He lives in Newcastle. His critically acclaimed debut, The Last Thread, won the 2013 NSW Premier’s Award for New Writing and was the regional winner (Pacific) of the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize. Michael's second book The Restorer was shortlisted for the Victorian and NSW Premier's Literary Awards in 2018 and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Award. 

About the award

  • The UTS Glenda Adams Award ($5,000) is for a published book of fiction written by an author who has not previously published a book-length work of narrative fiction or narrative non-fiction. 
  • The Award seeks to recognise outstanding new literary talent. The winning author may produce an excellent piece of writing in a traditional fictional form or may challenge and expand the boundaries of the genre. 
  • The winner of the UTS Glenda Adams Award is chosen from entries submitted for the Christina Stead Prize (no additional entry fee is required for this award).
  • Entrants who meet the UTS Glenda Adams Award criteria should indicate on the nomination form if they wish to be considered for the Award.
  • This Award is sponsored by UTS.

About Glenda Adams

The award recognises the literary achievements of Glenda Emilie Adams (1939–2007), Australian novelist and play writer. Adams was born in Ryde, Sydney. She graduated from University of Sydney with an Honours degree in Indonesian and later, won a scholarship to study at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, graduating in 1965. Adams returned to Australia later teaching creative writing at the University of Technology, Sydney. She published four novels, several short stories and plays. Her second novel Dancing on Corals won the Miles Franklin Award and a Special Award at the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards in 1987.

Past winners and shortlists



Bram Presser
Text Publishing


Letter to Pessoa
Michelle Cahill
Giramondo Publishing
Dodge Rose
Jack Cox
Text Publishing
Our Magic Hour
Jennifer Down
Text Publishing
Cover image of The Memory Artist.
Katherine Brabon
Allen & Unwin
Book Cover for The Bonobo’s Dream by Rose Mulready
Rose Mulready
Xoum Publishing