NSW Premier’s History Award winners announced

The 2023 NSW Premier’s History Awards, with $85,000 in prize money, were announced TONIGHT [7 September 2023] at the State Library of NSW as part of NSW History Week.  

NSW Premier Chris Minns MP said: “Tonight, we celebrate the remarkable achievements of our historians whose dedication and meticulous research ignite our curiosity by bringing fresh and nuanced perspectives to stories from our past.  As storytellers, historians give a voice to people and events from the past — particularly those who may have been unable to share their stories — for future generations.” 

“I congratulate this year’s winning historians, writers, creators and producers.” 

The 2023 winners are:   

Australian History Prize ($15,000)  
Elizabeth and John: The Macarthurs of Elizabeth Farm by Alan Atkinson (NewSouth) 

General History Prize ($15,000)  
Under Empire: Muslim Lives and Loyalties Across the Indian Ocean World, 1775–1945 by Michael Francis Laffan (Columbia University Press)   

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)  
He Belonged to Wagga: The Great War, the AIF and returned soldiers in an Australian country town by Ian Hodges (Australian Scholarly Publishing)  

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)  
The Goodbye Year by Emily Gale (Text Publishing) 

Digital History Prize ($15,000)  
The Australian Wars, Episode 1 by Rachel Perkins, Darren Dale, Jacob Hickey and Don Watson (Blackfella Films)

The Anzac Memorial Trustees Military History Prize ($10,000) 
Soldiers and Aliens: Men in the Australian Army’s employment companies during World War II by June Factor (Melbourne University Publishing) 

Read the judges' comments