There are currently intermittent issues with the display of images on the old catalogue and Library website. We are working to resolve the issue and apologise for any inconvenience. Please search the new catalogue. 


The Ask a Librarian Service will be unavailable on Monday 27 March between 8am and 10am. We apologise for any inconvenience. 

Shortlist announced

Award categories

View the shortlists and past winners for each category

About the Awards

The NSW Government is committed to increasing public engagement with the arts.

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are held annually. They are the richest and longest running state-based literary awards in Australia and cover all genres of writing. 

The Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and to encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the work of our writers. These annual awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.

Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, David Malouf AO, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO, Tony Birch, Helen Garner, Ellen Van Neerven and Michelle de Kretzer. 

Writers, translators and illustrators whose works are nominated must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status.

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are presented by the NSW Government and administered by the State Library in association with Create NSW. We are pleased to acknowledge the support of Multicultural NSW, the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) and the University of Sydney.

PDF icon Guidelines

For more information, please contact the Senior Project Officers, Awards

Phone: (02) 9273 1582 or (02) 9273 1767 

Jane McCredie

Senior Judge

Jane McCredie is an award-winning journalist, writer and reviewer who has been widely published in Australia and internationally. A former book publisher, she is the CEO of Writing NSW and the founder and director of the Quantum Words Festival of writing about science. She is the author of Making Girls and Boys: Inside the science of sex and was coeditor of the 2013 anthology of The Best Australian Science Writing.

Jane is a graduate of the Australia Council’s arts leaders program and has previously chaired both the Christina Stead and Douglas Stewart panels of the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

Past events

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2022 announcements

Announcement of the 2022 NSW Premier's Literary Awards winners.

2021 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Winner Announcement

Announcement of the 2021 NSW Premier's Literary Awards winners